top of page

Recent Reads - Book Recommendations

1. My favorite genre is realistic fiction. Sarah Dessen’s books are so captivating and relatable. My favorite book by her and my favorite book in general is The Truth About Forever. Dessen is one of the only authors that I can read multiple times without getting sick of the stories.

2. The Gift of Fear is super beneficial to anyone but especially to women. Becker explains survival signals that can protect us from violence. I learned about stalkers, violent relationships, and the benefit of our intuition. He tells us to trust our gut because our gut is never wrong. My favorite quote from this book is: “Anxiety, unlike real fear, is always caused by uncertainty.” I learned so many important skills to help protect myself.

3. I finished The Glass Castle in about two days because it was so good. This memoir is so interesting and eye opening to how differently people live. I haven’t seen the movie adaption yet but I hope it is as good as the book.

4. I read Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine because Sarah Dessen recommended it on her Instagram. It was such a unique book that I really enjoyed. It is also a reminder that you never really know what someone has gone through in their life so you shouldn't judge them by appearance.

5. Wednesday Martin explains what life is like living in the Upper East Side in the memoir, Primates of Park Avenue. It's so interesting learning how others live.

6. My mom and I love Gilmore Girls so we were excited to read Lauren Graham's experience from the popular TV show. Graham writes in an entertaining way that makes you want to continue reading Talking As Fast As I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (And Everything in Between).

7. I have been a fan of The Sound of Music since I was four years old. Maria von Trapp tells the real story behind the beloved movie. The differences between the movie and the true story are surprising. The Story of the Trapp Family Singers also goes into the family’s life after they escaped from Austria.

*Pictures from Google Images

bottom of page